Thursday, August 29, 2019

The next Democratic debate


Houston is the location for the next Democratic Party presidential nominees debate.  It will take place in September.  Unlike June and July's debates, September will only have one debate -- not two -- and all qualifying candidates will be on the stage at the same time.  This go round, that will only be ten candidates.

We are down to twenty candidates still in the race for the Democratic Party's presidential debate.  Mike Gravel, Seth Moulton, Kirsten Gillibrand, Eric Swalwell, John Hickenlooper and Jay Inslee have all dropped out of the race.  The next debate will take place in Houston and only ten candidates have qualified for it: Bernie Sanders, Elizabeth Warren, Joe Biden, Kamala Harris, Cory Booker, Julian Castro, Pete Buttigieg, Andrew Yang, Amy Klobouchar and Beto O'Roarke.

The ten that didn't qualify?  Many met the donations requirement that the DNC imposed but they failed to poll above 1% in four DNC approved polls.  Here are the ten who did not make it:

Author Marianne Williamson
•Billionaire Tom Steyer
•Rep. Tulsi Gabbard
•Sen. Michael Bennett
•Montana Governor Steve Bullock
•Rep. John Delaney
•Rep. Tim Ryan
•New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio
•Former Rep. Joe Sestak
•Miramar, Florida Mayor Wayne Messam

Tulsi Gabbard?  You may hear her complaining.  She was in the previous two debates and never complained when, for example, Seth Moulton did not make the debate stage.  But now that she didn't make the cut, suddenly the rules are unfair and arbitrary.

That's really stupid.  It makes her both a cry baby and a hypocrite.  The rules?  She was fine with them when others were being hurt by them; however, now that it's her being hurt, suddenly it's unfair and something to whine to the press about.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.
Poll1 { display:none; }