Monday, February 15, 2016

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series (Ava and C.I.)

We've avoided doing a yearly piece on who should get what award, blah, blah, blah.

But with the emphasis on the Academy Awards (after the fact), we think some time needs to be focused on the Emmys.

1) Patricia Heaton

The two-time Emmy winner has never been nominated for her work on THE MIDDLE.  Seven nominations in her career and not one for her long running comedy hit?  As we noted some time ago, she more than deserves a nomination, she's doing her best work ever.  We will never agree with Patricia's politics but this award is supposed to be for acting and she's more than earned a nomination.

2) America Ferrera

Proving UGLY BETTY wasn't a fluke, America's back in SUPERSTORE.  Back and delightful in the sitcom.

3) Anna Farris

Playing the lead in MOM is no easy feat.  The show can get very intense and then hilarity can come out of that.  This is not cookie-cutter comedy.  And Farris is outstanding.

4) Lily Tomlin/Jane Fonda

Let's be real, it's going to be hard for both women to be nominated.  They both deserve it but The Emmys are so horny for HBO, they seldom note the worthy elsewhere.  Lily was nominated last go round and would have been a worthy winner.  Jane was good in season one but, in season two, she's not coming to play, she's bringing it.  Either actress is a solid nominee.

5) Tracee Ellis Ross

How did they manage to rob her of the Emmy last year?

Who knows, but they did.

And the winner is . . .


Tracee Ellis Ross for BLACKISH.

Remember we were talking about the snobbery involved in chasing after HBO?  It's that snobbery that allowed Tracee to carry UPN's GIRLFRIENDS for eight seasons but, since the show aired on UPN, the Emmys never felt the need to even nominate her.

Now her (critically acclaimed) series airs on ABC.

And she damn well deserves the Emmy.

Who doesn't?

Julia Louis-Dreyfus.

No way in the world did one actress deserve the award four years running.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.
Poll1 { display:none; }